Our Sponsors

Get in Touch
https://www.facebook.com/RobertEmmettsLondon/  https://twitter.com/r_emmettslondon  mailto:pro.robert.emmetts@gmail.com

Club History
The Robert Emmetts hurling club was founded in 1948 in Bow Palais in East London on the 20th of March, with the football club initiated less than six months later.  The inaugural AGM of the Robert Emmett’s Hurling and Football Club on 13th February 1949 saw the election of Stephen Fitzgerald as our first football captain. The club's first fixture was against Thomas McCurtains on Sunday the 16th of May at the back of Wanstead flats.
Many fine men came through the Robert Emmetts hands, notably Bill Horgan of Cork, who played centre back on their first ever county championship-winning team back in 1951. Bill later becam chairman of the club. Another stalwart of Robert Emmetts back then was Fintan Lawlor of Co. Laois who played his last game at the ripe old age of 61 (they don't make them like they used to!). In the 80s the reins were taken up by Rogie Maher of Co. Limerick and none other than Tom Redmond who put in sterling work to get the Emmetts to where they are today. Rogie has since left to go back to his native Limerick while Tom is still steering the ship today.
The club has had a very successful run over the past 15 years, winning seven senior hurling county titles (most recently in 2016) and winning the junior football championship in 2007. That same year we made history by being the first, and only, club from outside Ireland to lift an All-Ireland title when Fergus McMahon, who is still leading by example on the field, led our hurlers to intermediate glory. That victory in 2007 was masterminded by the great Mick O'Dea who had the distinction of managing the London county team to Nickey Rackard success in its inaugural year of 2005.  The links to 2007 continue though, as star forwards of that year, Kevin McMullan and Mark Traynor, have stepped up as manager and selector, respectively, of the current senior team. The lads' winning mentality and attitude clearly filtered through to the players as we lifted the 2015 championship title to add to the Collins Cup victory earlier in the year. Keen to build on these successes, we successfully defended the title in 2016, winning back-to-back championships for the first time since our 2006-2008 run. In fact, 2016 saw us achieve an unprecedented clean sweep of London hurling titles, and we retained our league, Collins and Ryan Cup titles the following year.

We have also had many of our members represent London county teams with distinction, including involvement with the recent Nickey Rackard, Christy Ring Cup and National League successes of 2011 and 2012. Our own Fergus McMahon is the current manager of the London team.
Hopefully this will be another landmark year for the club. Emmetts abú!